Skip to main content

News-Press NOW Readers' Choice: How Voting Works & How to Win

Missouri's News-Press NOW hosts a Readers' Choice ballot on the Second Street platform, reachable at newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com. Rather than splitting nominations from a later vote, the listing folds both into a single round; the stretch that closed on February 26, 2026 after opening January 8 marks the organization's second confirmed year, following 2025. Nothing published names a host city, breaks the ballot into categories, or says how often a single supporter may cast a vote; confirm each of those on the live ballot each cycle.

Run by: News-Press NOW Cadence: annual
Thematic photo for News-Press NOW Readers' Choice showing News-Press NOW Readers' Choice voting workflow

Disclosure: buyvotescontest.com is a vote-promotion service. This is independent, informational coverage of a public contest run by a third party; we are not affiliated with the organizer. Where our own services are relevant they are clearly labeled, and the contest's official rules always take precedence.

2
confirmed rounds, 2025-2026 (newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com)
Jan 8 - Feb 26
confirmed 2026 ballot window (newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com)

What's confirmed: two editions, one closed window, no city named

Two years, 2025 and 2026, make up the entire confirmed history of News-Press NOW's Readers' Choice ballot. The most recent round opened January 8, 2026 and closed February 26, listed on the Second Street platform at newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com/RC-2026 as a single nomination-and-voting ballot rather than a nominate-first, vote-later structure.

News-Press NOW itself does not publish a city or coverage area beyond Missouri for this ballot, so this page names only the state and the organizer, nothing more specific. Once that window shut, the trail goes cold: nothing spells out category names, nothing caps how often a supporter may vote, and no date yet marks when the next round begins.

News-Press NOW Readers' Choice: what's confirmed
ItemDetail
ProgramNews-Press NOW Readers' Choice
OrganizerNews-Press NOW
PlatformSecond Street, newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com
StateMissouri
VerticalReaders'-choice business awards
Confirmed editions2025, 2026
2026 ballot windowJanuary 8 - February 26
Category listNot published
Vote cap / eligibility rulesNot published

How many categories run, and how often one person may vote, is not stated; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

One combined ballot, not a nominate-then-vote sequence

Second Street hosts plenty of markets that split the process: a nomination window first, a separate voting stage weeks later. News-Press NOW's 2026 listing is coded differently on the platform itself, as a single nomination-and-voting ballot, meaning the same January 8 through February 26 window that took entries was also open for votes rather than handing off to a later stage.

That structure sets this ballot apart from Missouri's other, separately run best-of programs: A-List St. Louis Magazine, Best of KC, Best of Southwest Missouri, Columbia Missourian Reader's Choice Awards, Columbia MO CommunityVotes, and Feast Magazine FEAST 50. None of the six answers to News-Press NOW, none shares its Second Street listing, and doing well on one says nothing about a business's chances on any other.

Why the plain market name isn't enough on its own

"Missouri readers choice" returns results from several unrelated ballots before it returns this one specifically. The direct address, newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com/RC-2026, or its predecessor, newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com/RC-2025, is a more reliable way to land on News-Press NOW's own results than a generic search term. Bookmarking that exact address carries extra weight for a ballot this new, since there isn't yet a decade of familiar branding to fall back on if a search engine surfaces the wrong page first.

Two confirmed years is not yet a settled calendar

A ballot with only two confirmed years, 2025 and 2026, hasn't run long enough to prove whether its opening date holds steady from one year to the next. The 2026 round opened January 8 and closed February 26; nothing published states whether a future round would open on that same date, earlier, or later. A program several editions deep can sometimes be read for a pattern in its own past behavior; this one cannot yet, since a sample of two rounds is too thin to call anything a habit.

Charging either side a fee isn't part of anything confirmed here, not for the business submitting and not for the supporter casting a vote. That matches the ordinary shape of a Second Street readers'-choice program, where neither side hands over money to take part.

Whether the next round lands on January 8 again, arrives sooner, or slips later is a question only News-Press NOW can settle; confirm on the live ballot each cycle before penciling in a date of your own.

Building support without a category list to work from

With no roster of categories to check a business against, the practical move is entering under the exact public name customers already use and letting the live form sort placement from there. A two-edition program simply doesn't have years of former winners for a business to study, so leaning on the window that's actually open beats researching a longer history that isn't there yet.

What tends to move a ballot like this is personal outreach, repeated more than a single time, rather than a mechanical push near a deadline. Whichever way the eventual rules land, capped, uncapped, or never spelled out at all, activity that reads as automated puts the whole entry at risk, a cost this two-year-old program can less afford to absorb than an older one with a longer run behind it could.

A nomination is a claim News-Press NOW alone gets to close out; nothing on the ballot promises more than a spot in the running. Reading is buying votes legal first is worth ten minutes before committing real budget to a program still only two editions into its run. When outside help enters the picture, what that typically covers for a combined nomination-and-voting format is the subject of buying votes online, while award-vote campaign planning was written with exactly this readers'-choice structure in mind.

How to vote in News-Press NOW Readers' Choice

  1. 1

    Confirm the round is still open before submitting

    The confirmed 2026 round ran January 8 through February 26 on newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com. Land inside that stretch and a submission still counts; miss it, and whatever News-Press NOW schedules next would only show up by checking that address directly, since no future date is posted yet.

  2. 2

    Enter the business exactly as customers already search for it

    Nothing published divides this ballot into named categories, so there is no roster to match a listing against ahead of time. Enter the business under its plain public name and let the live form handle placement; confirm on the live ballot each cycle if that changes.

  3. 3

    Do not promise supporters a vote limit that isn't published

    News-Press NOW hasn't posted a per-voter cap or a rule about repeat voting for this ballot. Telling supporters they can vote once a day, or without limit, is a guess neither side can check; confirm on the live ballot each cycle before making that claim to anyone.

  4. 4

    Watch for the next round rather than assuming last year's calendar

    Two confirmed years, 2025 and 2026, is not enough history to know whether a future round opens on the same January date. Checking newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com directly beats assuming the pattern holds; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

News-Press NOW Readers' Choice — frequently asked questions

10 answers covering legality, delivery, quality, pricing and platform specifics.

Legality & scope

Before the next round opens, how can a business already build support?
Ask real customers to visit newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com directly, more than once, rather than waiting for a single push near an unannounced deadline. A ballot only two editions deep pays a steeper price for activity that looks automated or fake than a program with many more confirmed years behind it. <a href="/how-to/get-more-votes-online/">Building real momentum for an online ballot</a> covers approaches that don't hinge on rules News-Press NOW has never published.

Process & delivery

When did News-Press NOW's 2026 Readers' Choice round run?
January 8 through February 26, 2026, listed on newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com as a single combined round rather than a separate nomination stage followed by a later vote. Nothing published previews a next round's exact dates.
Does News-Press NOW's Readers' Choice ballot combine nominating and voting into one step?
Yes, based on how the platform itself lists the promotion: a single nomination-and-voting ballot rather than a nominate-first, vote-later structure some other Second Street markets use.
How many confirmed editions has News-Press NOW run?
Two, 2025 and 2026. Nothing published pushes this ballot's confirmed history earlier than 2025.
Does News-Press NOW Readers' Choice publish a category list?
Not as of the 2026 round. How many categories run, and how often one person may vote, is not stated; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.
Is there a limit on how many times someone may vote in this ballot?
Nothing published sets a per-supporter limit or a once-a-day rule here. A figure borrowed from a different Missouri program cannot be trusted for this one; newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com is where such a rule would first show up if News-Press NOW ever posts one.

Pricing & payment

Is entering or voting in News-Press NOW's Readers' Choice ballot free?
Submitting a business, or supporting one with a vote, costs nothing under what's published, matching how a Second Street readers'-choice program ordinarily works.

Platform specifics

What is News-Press NOW Readers' Choice's confirmed web address?
newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com/RC-2026 for the round that closed in February 2026, with newspressnow.secondstreetapp.com/RC-2025 behind it for the prior year. Typing the exact address is safer than trusting a generic search for a Missouri readers'-choice ballot to land on the right one.

Custom orders

Is News-Press NOW Readers' Choice the same ballot as Best of KC or A-List St. Louis Magazine?
No. Best of KC and A-List St. Louis Magazine are separately run Missouri best-of programs with no listed connection to News-Press NOW, and a placement on either carries no weight toward this ballot's own results.
How does this ballot relate to Columbia Missourian Reader's Choice Awards or Columbia MO CommunityVotes?
They are unrelated. <a href="/usa/missouri/columbia-missourian-readers-choice/">Columbia Missourian Reader's Choice Awards</a> and <a href="/usa/missouri/columbia-mo-communityvotes/">Columbia MO CommunityVotes</a> run their own separate ballots, neither tied to News-Press NOW's Second Street listing.

Sources

Last reviewed June 2026. Contest dates, rules and vote caps change each season — always confirm the current rules on the official contest page before you vote.

From the blog — guides & case studies

Practical guides, technical deep-dives, and anonymized case studies.60+ articles. Selection rotates.

Victor Williams — founder of Buyvotescontest.com
Victor Williams
Online · usually replies in 5 min

Hi 👋 — drop your contest URL and I'll send a price quote within an hour. No card needed yet.